top of page

Preventative Disease, Part II



My last post on preventative medicine led to some controversy. Some took the quote to mean that future doctors will NEVERR write any prescriptions 🙈🙈. Do I really think that to be the case? #ohHailno . So to clarify... I took the quote differently. I took it to be an incredibly hopeful statement -- a glimpse into a time where research has progressed to where the development of devastating diseases like cystic fibrosis can be prevented with gene therapy, tumors with immunomodulatory vaccines, etc... a time where what's left is chronic disease that can be prevented with lifestyle changes (or similarly with advanced treatments)... but that "medicine", in the sense of treating symptoms alone, would hold no place 🙌 . I like the quote because to me, it redefines preventative medicine. We know that much of chronic disease can be prevented with lifestyle changes alone. And today with up and coming medical research, we're adding powerful tools to our arsenal đŸ’Ș . I look forward to sharing health strategies as well as exciting medical research, both past and future. Thank you to my followers #moretocome 🌊 📍at my med school alma mater

bottom of page