top of page

Written by an 88 year old man who learned he was dying



Written by an 88 year old man who learned he was dying: . "If I had my life to live over again, I'd try to make more mistakes next time. I wouldn't try to be so perfect. We all have perfection fetishes. What difference does it make if you let people know you are imperfect? They can identify with you then. Nobody can identify with perfection. . I would relax more. I'd limber up. I'd be sillier than I've ever been on this trip. In fact, I know very few things that I would take so seriously. I'd be crazier. I'd be less hygienic. I'd take more chances. I'd watch more sunsets. I'd go more places I've never seen. I'd eat more ice cream and fewer beans. I'd have more actual troubles and fewer imaginary ones. . You see, I was one of those people who lived sensibly and sanely hour after hour and day after day. Oh, I've had my moments, and if I had it all do all over again, I'd have more of those moments. In fact, I'd try to have nothing but beautiful moments moment by moment by moment. In case you didn't know it, that's the stuff that life is made of--only moments. Don't miss the now. I've been one of those people who never went anywhere without a thermometer, a hot water bottle, a gargle, a raincoat, and a parachute. If I had it to do all over again, I'd travel lighter next time. . If I had it to do all over again, I'd start barefoot earlier in the spring and stay that way later in the fall. I'd ride more merry-go-rounds, I'd watch more sunrises, and I'd play with more children. If I had to do it all over again...but you see, I don't."

bottom of page